Harley Davidson V-Rod Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Why didn't anyone tell me the V-Rod was such a fun bike to own and ride?!

So a little about me:
I currently live in SW Missouri. I'm married with 5 kids and have been a full time police officer for about 16 years. I've been riding for about 15 years, and besides the little Honda Shadows at the MSF course I took 15 years ago, I've ridden nothing but Harleys. In addition to riding, I'm a gym rat, love baseball (I bleed Dodger blue), and I'm a tech nerd.

A little about my bikes/riding experience:
About fifteen years ago, ay my first police department, I decided to get a motorcycle. I had the bug to learn to ride for a few years, and almost bought a crotch rocket at one point. (thank God I didn't. I wouldn't be here.) My chief had a 1994 XL883L, and I bought it for $5K. Learning was jumping on it and going. Dropped it immediately. (how do you turn at slow speed on this? *Crash*) but a few drops and bumps, and a few guides, and I got pretty good. Finally took the MSF rider course, and riding got in my bones. Unfortunately, I got married and we had a baby, and all the man toys, including my Jeep TJ and my Sportster had to go.

About five or six years later, I really got the bug to ride again. It was eating at me. I happen to work with an old biker, named RD. He was a civilian employee. And he was a BIKER. Partied with the HA and almost prospected with another group. He was an outlaw with a soft heart. And he was a very good and dear friend.

He had an old 1982 FXRS, a Shovelhead, which he bought brand new at HD in KCMO. Well his health was declining, and the bike had ran in 6 years. He wound up losing his leg due to an infection, and with it, hopes of ever riding again. So he offered his FXRS to me for $4K and I jumped.