Harley Davidson V-Rod Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a newb V-Rodder, having just purchased an 03 V-Rod from an out-of-state dealer a few months back. Checked the oil last night and discovered that it's a half quart low. Have no idea what oil was used prior to the purchase and was wondering what you all recommend I do? I doubt mixing two types of oil will cause any problems, but want to make sure and find out what oil I should use with the 'mystery' oil.
Have 11,500 miles on her and supposedly had its 10k service, but I didn't get any documentation on that. Hoping to wait until next Spring before getting it serviced again and wanted to fill 'er up with oil before that.
Thanks in advance,
Duke

·
Registered
543 Posts
If it were me i'd just go ahead and change the oil myself. Real easy job to do. Plus you would know what oil was in it.Get you some good quality synthetic oil and a filter.

·
Premium Member
1,501 Posts
Maddogg57 said:
What do you use on your Bike?
I have been using Amsoil since 10K miles and now have 32K. It used some oil until 10K so I waited before the switch from dino. I have almost 6K on the last change without any add and could not be more pleased with Amsoil.

·
Premium Member
7,727 Posts
One thing that I would like to add is that if you are going to be storing your bike over winter you should change the oil and filter before putting it in storage.

I say this because you mentioned not wanting to change oil until spring.

·
"Beyond the Pale"
1,214 Posts
I need to do the 5k checkup (I got 5300 on it). Is it too early or ill-advised to switch to amsoil now?
Thanks

·
Nate
3,277 Posts
I'm taking the V rod in for a check up today, I meant to get some Amsoil, but never got around to it. Can I use Syn 3 for now, then switch to Amsoil next time?

·
Premium Member
7,727 Posts