Harley Davidson V-Rod Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My tire is starting to get worn and I wan't to know what 240 tire you are replacing the stock one with. Buddy told me Metzeler - ME 880 Marathon XXL Rear Tire he uses and loves it. Also what front tire are you running.

·
Premium Member
2,534 Posts
Metz. all the way.

·
Premium Member
1,084 Posts
Metzler Marathon ME880s. I've been running Metz since 1987 and love 'em. The Marathon's have excellent wet handling characteristics. They tend to wear quickly, but they're sticky and that means a safer ride.

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
LiquidSilver said:
Metzler Marathon ME880s. I've been running Metz since 1987 and love 'em. The Marathon's have excellent wet handling characteristics. They tend to wear quickly, but they're sticky and that means a safer ride.

How quicky ? You getting 3 - 4000 ? Also did you put one on the front?

·
Premium Member
1,084 Posts
BRUTUS32 said:
How quicky ? You getting 3 - 4000 ? Also did you put one on the front?
5000mi ea and I replace front and rear at the same time.

·
GA. BOY
2,462 Posts
metz...

·
On the dark side
174 Posts
stock Dunlop's but looking forward to changing to Metz ME880s over the winter.

·
1130cc.comaholic
13,241 Posts
this is the first bike that I had dunlops (stock) and they sucked they ended up cupping after 4000 miles or so. I've always used Avon's on other bikes, but I switched to metzler's for this bike and have no complaints :thumb:

·
Safe and sound
4,589 Posts

·
Registered
171 Posts
I am re-igniting this thread rather than starting a new one...

It is tire time for my 07 DX. I got 8600+ on the front Dunlop before the cupping demon got me!!!! The cupping is worse on the left side of the tire than on the right...high speed heavy corning on the left turn interstate ramps?????:spank:

I am planning on the following:

front: 130/70x19 Metzeler 880

rear: 260/40x18 Metzeler 880 XXL