Harley Davidson V-Rod Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Fah q 2
2,690 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I thru everything(ecm,TSSM) into the air-box on my X, and now I wanted to cut all the access wire thats there to clean it up a bit, but i was warned not too.
Some electrical genius explained to me that shortening the wires is a very bad idea explaining things like ohms, and current draw will be enough to mess up the ecm.
I think its crap, so i ask,
Have any members done the above? I read that a few of you have relocated the electronics but have you also shortened the wires?
Any insight would be appreciated

·
drag racer
6,699 Posts
never done it with the vrod but i've been an auto tech for 20+ years and seen it cause the very issues you speak of particularly ohms and resistance, most or all the sensors are on a 5 volt reference and when cut and spliced can cause false signals creating trouble codes and most likely trouble with drive ability.

·
Registered
1,038 Posts
I also think that it is possible to cause problem. Possible is the key word here. Now for a 12v line or system you have a big difference between the High and Low signals so but cutting into a line won't cause an issue.

However as stated above most sensors run off 5v so the difference between H&L is much more tight and less room for variance.

On the Electronic systems I work on and think the ECMs run about the same the Data transfer is 1.5V but it's also timed . so they have that built into the Harness as well. The know it will take so many milliseconds from signal turn on to signal read. So not only would that signal be getting there quicker it could be read higher as well from the Ohms issue (even though I think that's small and the Timing is more of the issue)

One of my Machines have 2 different lengths of cables and we have to go in and change NVM settings and I would think that is a timing adjustment more then Ohms

·
LEX MALLA LEX NULLA
1,072 Posts
:popcorn

·
Fah q 2
2,690 Posts