Harley Davidson V-Rod Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
597 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I want to know everything that anyone is willing to share with me about the Trask turbo system. It looks great and I am sure that it performs just as well. Mainly I want to know what kind of boost it makes, if it will boost without the engine being in a load situation(basically will it make boost when I am at the staging line reving up for the 1/4 mile run), how has it affected your fuel economy, how is it when you start getting into some twisty roads, how easy is it to install, are you happy with it, what do I need for fuel tuner(I currently have a Terminal Velocity 2). Things of that nature and anything else that you can share with me. THANKS

·
Premium Member
3,516 Posts
I am no expert (emphasis on that). If you have not snooped around thier site, you should, alot of info on there. I believe they also recomend a race tuner for thier application. I also think I have heard they use 8# of boost standard? I am sure everyone will speak up and we will all learn something new.

·
Registered
597 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
that is what I am hopping for, but thanks for the info.

·
Registered
597 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
still looking for some input from the guys who have the turbo. I wanna know all about them from people who have them.

·
Premium Member
1,478 Posts
I don't run drags so I can't help you with your no-load questions. What I can tell you is that, under load, the turbo lag is about one half a heartbeat. It's very predictable and very easy to modulate. About two runs through the twisties and you'll have re-educated your right hand to the very slight amount of lead it needs to feed in. When the boost comes on it's very smooth and responds precisely to throttle inputs.

Fuel economy effect; negligible to none. My buddy's Sportster gets about 4 MPG MORE with the turbo than without. Why? I dunno.