Harley Davidson V-Rod Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK, so I'm a newbie to the Vrod world. So new I ain't even got a scooter. I started reading this here forum last month after cleaning my workshop and noticed my manly inner sanctum seemed as empty as a bachelors fridge cause I hadn't had a scooter to push out of the way in a few years.

Saw the Vrod special on Discovery channel and decided to go Vrod..Googled Vrod and after reading the many online magazine reviews plus dis here cool forum I figured an "R" with the inverted front end and center foot controls would work.

On to the story. So today I visit Central Texas HD in Austin. Only two rods in stock, an 06 full chrome "A" with 4,000 miles and a stock"R"
No tag on the A but the sales tag on the R read, after everything, something like $18,000 plus..can't recall the exacts, it coulda even been $19 thou plus..
I was told the Vrods sell as soon as they are displayed, especially the "R" models.

Anyways, I walked away with;
a. an even greater appreciation of the VRod as a motorcycle.
b. I now know the "R" model tucks mah legs a wee bit too much.
c. the "extended leg" look in so many of the magazine photos can be directly attributed to short legs, cause sitting on the "A" model has the same foot-knee-shoulder to wrist seating of say, a stock rigid frame with forward foot controls , a 4" over wide glide front end and a set of flanders bars...Jez da way I likes to roll...
"I don't need no steenking fog lites, onward, thru da fog!!":moped:

·
Registered Abuser
2,894 Posts
The R was discontinued and was not a huge success despite the fact that it was a great bike. You can usually pick them up new for $13,000 or less. Not sure who you were talking to, but I think they were trying to pull a quick one on you.

·
Paintless Rider
1,326 Posts