Harley Davidson V-Rod Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone! Just bought a 2006 V rod with 8,000 miles about 3 weeks ago! I have searched everywhere for this question but I can not find a legit answer.

I love the v rod muscle gauges and would really like to find out if it is possible to install them on my 2006? Any help would be great thank you!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,008 Posts
Connects straight up with same plug and everything works perfect. The only issue is the ABS light which stays illuminated because there is no signal to extinguish. You can either live with it or open the gauges and remove the led. If you are not confident in doing this Angelo at DutchCustomLed can sort it for you.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the reply.. I definitely would not be comfortable taking the LED out myself. I also just called my Harley dealer and the guy told me that it would have to be a 2011 muscle gauge or older because the wires have changed in 2012. Have you heard of this?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,008 Posts
Thanks for the reply.. I definitely would not be comfortable taking the LED out myself. I also just called my Harley dealer and the guy told me that it would have to be a 2011 muscle gauge or older because the wires have changed in 2012. Have you heard of this?
Not heard anything about this, but pretty sure I don't agree as the part nos for the instrument clusters have not changed from 09 to 16. If the wiring had changed then the internal connections of the cluster would also have to be different. I think your guy is confusing V Rods with the aircooled Harleys.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
That looks awesome with the blue... does the odometer automatically change or do you need the dealer to add the correct mileage to it?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,008 Posts
That's one of the mods Angelo at DutchCustomLed can do for you or he will supply a board for DIY. Mileage stays at whatever is in the cluster when you buy it. Mine was a new one so was zero. I think Angelo may be able to reinstate correct mileage, not 100% sure so ask. Is a member here and has a website but mostly uses his Facebook page. Check it out, has a good gallery of different mods. Faceplates, km to m conversions and m to km.
 
1 - 7 of 7 Posts
Top