Harley Davidson V-Rod Forum banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well, let me start by the fact that I've been riding sport bikes for the past 10+ years and never thought I'd own anything else. THEN I rented a V-Rod while visiting San Diego last Fall and took a 4 day ride down the coast through Mexico. Needless to say, I sold my 2002 Yamaha R1 and 2000 R6 this Spring. Put the cash away (and added to it) and have finally found my Rod. I'm flying a few states away this Saturday to pick it up and driving it back.

It's a brand new, never registered 2002 V-Rod that someone bought as an "investment" during all the original V-Rod hype. Once he realized they were depreciating just as anything else does, on the market it went, and off the market just as quick. Mine, at a used V-Rod price.

I'm getting married the last week of July and we're actually planning on taking the Rod out for a week tour as the first portion of our Honeymoon (What a girl!!).

So now I'm doing the research to ensure I get all the right modifications the first time. I can tell already there is much debate as to how much HP you can get and more specifically which exhaust systems work and don't. Being a Harley first-timer, I'll be searching for the best performing exhaust while still providing that prototypical Harley sound. Also debating the big-bore modification. Looks like that provides a lot of additional HP, but obviously I'll need to do a lot more research.

Once the exhaust is done, bags, touring seat (sundowner?), and removable windshield are next. Make it a bit nicer for the longer touring rides.

I'm happy to find a site like this and hope to be an avid reader/contributer as I learn & modify!!!

·
Avenger Hawk
635 Posts
:welcome: lots to learn here :broke:

If you don't want a divorce while on your Honeymoon, I might suggest changing the passenger pillion as your first mod :2cents: Enjoy

·
Yeah, but what if...
4,714 Posts
:vrodforu: