Harley Davidson V-Rod Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone!

I'm visiting because I'm considering switching from my '07 Heritage to a Vrod. The reason for the switch is the high heat and the effects of it on my comfort, my safety and my enjoyment of the ride.

Here's a little background: I started out on a Honda Rebel 250 (like a lot of people), after 4 months I graduated to a Yamaha Vstar 1100 which I put 21K on. I rode it for 4 years and got the Heritage last November and I've put 3K on it.

I'm short in stature, a female, I ride only short trips (due to having a small baby) and I'm not an agressive rider.

If I may ask some questions of you:

1. pros of owning a Vrod
2. cons of owning a Vrod

Now if you've come from a cruiser to a Vrod:

1. ride differences
2. handling differences
3. fun differences
4. touring differences

I appreciate the time anyone gives me by helping me decide.

Last - could someone tell me the differences of the Vrod defined by models? All those letters are confusing. :)

!. Pros of owning a VRod

·
Wore Out Woodworker
1,620 Posts
Welcome to 1130 Mookie. Everything about owning a V-Rod is a pro. The biggest reason I ride the V is because it is different than anything else out there. The bad thing about the V is that Harley really does not make alot of accessories parts for it. But you can go aftermarket. Go to my gallery and look at my bike.
With you being short I would suggest you lower the bike. It will help you to plant your feet on the pavement.
This bike rides great, it handels great, and is so much fun. If you are going to tour the first thing I would do is change out the seat. After about 250 miles or so it really gets uncomfortable for me. All in all though its the best bike I have ever owned. You can't go wrong.
As far as the different models go to the Harley and there they list all the models. Or just go to the dealer and sit on each one and find one that fits you.

·