Harley Davidson V-Rod Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm just learning about V Rods. One thing mentioned again and again is the factory suspension is marginal. Too soft, poor dampening, etc. Do other members of this forum mind sharing their upgrades? I am not planning to ride much above the speed limits. My cousin is the County Sheriff where I live and I have to keep the family name clean.

Thank you,

Bill.

·
Registered
62 Posts
Welcome also new here but you came to the right place great forum.

I have a 2007 VRSCD Night Rod and I changed mine to Progressive 412's Heavy Duty (I'm 5 ' 8'' about 197 LB's) and keep them set on number 4. That seems to work well with just me or when I'm loaded down for a trip. The "Progressive 412's Heavy Duty" are probably the best bang for the buck and the ride was great on a 5,000 mile trip I just finished.

·
Registered
980 Posts
I have Ricor intiminators in my front forks and Ricor made to order Shocks on rear.
Bike rides smoother, front end brake dive and hard cornering compression greatly reduced, making for a better handling ride. I also noticed the annoying road imperfection feedback or jolts, that normally transfers through the handlebars was also greatly reduced. Thus causing less fatigue in my hands on long trips. Anyone that rode I 40 through Arizona knows what I'm talking about.

Reactions: William Draper

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·

I have a 2007 VRSCD Night Rod and I changed mine to Progressive 412's Heavy Duty (I'm 5 ' 8'' about 197 LB's) and keep them set on number 4. That seems to work well with just me or when I'm loaded down for a trip. The "Progressive 412's Heavy Duty" are probably the best bang for the buck and the ride was great on a 5,000 mile trip I just finished.
Thank you, just what I need to know.
Bill.
I have Ricor intiminators in my front forks and Ricor made to order Shocks on rear.