Harley Davidson V-Rod Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Brett
286 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been chasing an engine vibration on my 2003 Rod for a few years now, it comes in around 3500rpm and increases through the rev range. It goes through the bars, pegs, and seat. It goes away when clutched and can be produced stationary free revving. I've replaced front & rear engine mounts, replace clutch pack, changed exhaust,inspected every inch of the bike for rubbing components, even different tunes without success. The vibration started when I launched pretty hard once felt a slight thud and has slowly gotten worst over time. Also have looked for cracks in the frame. Need help.

·
Registered
2,511 Posts
try leaving airbox cover off and check coolant pipes for clearance?blocked muffler or loose baffles.

·
Registered
5,275 Posts
Is there any way for the balancer to get out of time? I've not gotten into that yet with the Revolution but that's symptom of the big twin B motors if the sprocket slips on the crank and the timing of the weights are off.
Ron

·
Registered
737 Posts
Was one of the main reasons I sold the old 1340 Evo - I know how frustrating something like that can be. The Evos were very poor from an engine balance perspective, so the factory put out a couple of fairly comprehensive checklists over time. Might be useful from a generic diagnostic perspective.

It was listed as Service Bulletin M-1324. Can't find a working link at the moment unfortunately.

·
Noel
4,631 Posts
One linger thought related to my old 2004 VROD, but this was a rare 4.25 bore, 1320cc wiseco pistons with broken skirts, there was a harmonic vibration at certain RPM's as the pistons resonated making a racket that I had for months wrote off as midrange poor tuning flat spot, etc.