Harley Davidson V-Rod Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,
Quick intro. I own a 2017 night rod special with a stage 1 kit V&H 2:1 competition exhaust, but I want more POWER. I started riding when I bought this bike new in late 2017, so I dont know too much about them. I need some advice.

1) Which stage 2 kit should I buy that will give me more hp/torque in the mid range
2) How much will the kit cost
3) My bike still has factory warranty, but should I take it to sawgrass HD to have it installed/dynoed, or does anyone know of any vrod experts in the South Florida region
4) Is it worth the cost

Bonus questions:
Should I upgrade my tire size from a 240 to a 250 or 260 and if so how would it change the handling of the bike

Thank you guys in advance.

·
VRSCF
1,264 Posts
Cant advice on stage II, still considering it myself after 7 years with my F, its due a valve service next time, so could save some labour. But undecided if the extra 10bhp or so is worth the cost of the kit + fitting and tune. Some people say the power with the Harley Stage II cams is all up top after 6K ....

Re the tire, a popular upgrade is a Metz 260mm. Ive been running those for over 6 years now, on the 5th rear tyre now. It actually felt better when I replaced the OE original Michelin because the tyre was a few pounds lighter. So yeah, when you change tyre, just go Metz 260 :)

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I will definitely consider the tire upgrade once I need to replace it. I definitely want to stage 2 upgrade, but I have no experience in it. I am not sure what to buy or even if HD sawgrass can do a stage 2 on it. I hope someone adds some more advise

·
VRSCF
1,264 Posts
You need to buy this kit part number 30076-09 KIT VR PERFORMANCE - you may be able to find on sale in USA