Harley Davidson V-Rod Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
123 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I took the bike to work today, probally never doing it again. Short enough commute so gas doesn't matter plus the one mile on the LIE sux! Anyway, I work as a field Engineer so I need to get aroung the 300 Acre facility I am currently at. So today I forgot to turn the key to off. And at 4pm I come out, battery is dead as a door nail!!! So I am like ok we can push it to my worker, after 3 tries on flat surface no less no luck. So i am like, how am I going to get home? F, it lets jump it off a car. Guy says no way man, so I am like well I gots to get home. So we go to the garage and find a John Deer Gator Tractor, and i jumped it off that battery. But here is the strange thing. Bike started, but I had to hold it a 4k for 5 mins, otherwise it would stall, and during that 5 mins if i took the jumpers off the john deer it also died. But got it stateted, and is running fine. Kinda pissed I had to run it at 5 k for 5 mins not even warmed up.

·
Premium Member
2,724 Posts
You completly drained the battery and without some charge to it, it wouldnt keep running. Probably is fine, but you might want it tested.

·
Registered
385 Posts
The bike has no power for the fuel injection and other computer functions to operate that is why it died when you let it idle or took off the cables, The charging system was at max just to recharge the battery so it was not able to run the electronics. If it was an old carb style bike it would push start and go from there. Sorry you had a bad day but if you didn't leave the key in it it wouldn't have been dead because it would be turned off so take the key out from now on and problem solved

·
Paintless Rider
1,326 Posts
Welcome to the club. I left my key in it once while I was talking to a friend, an d got off it to go look at his deck in back of his house. Came back later to hear click..click..click........ Won't ever do that again.

·