Harley Davidson V-Rod Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
108 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Guys i have read a few threads on this topic but i am still confused. as like most on here i am new to all this and need to use the brains of the forum.

Is there a sert out for the 08's or will any sert work on them????????
is it just a program that is needed to work with the 08's through any tuner???

:bash: :bash: :banghead: :banghead: Im not sure please help:)

·
"Easy Wind"
179 Posts
Sorry to post w/ no help on this one, but I have the same exact questions???
and further, why or how does the new '08 o2 sensors come into play? Is the SERT better than a PCIII just because you can control idle rpm? I had an HD tech guy at a dealership tell me the new system is a closed loop until "x" RPM's and then open loop at WOT????
I just want my bike haul ass without any gaps in the midrange cruising speed and w/out any popping or undue engine trauma....and to make as much torque as possible until the ponies kick in, of course ;-) Sound is great, but I think most of us bought the V-Rod for it's performance and potential....
Can someone please definitively CLARIFY why a SERT over the other fueler options? What's the REAL differences between the big "two"...?

·
SNAFU
13,094 Posts
The Race Tuner is the ONLY device that actually modifies the ECM. Everything else is a piggyback device. On the closed loop bikes the PCIII actually fakes out the ECM by providing a bogus signal from the O2 sensors it then modifies the output to the fuel injectors. IMHO it's a cheesy way to tune an EFI system and not something I would ever put on my bike.

What makes the SERT better is total control of the ECM. If you really want to tune an EFI system you MUST modify the base fueling and ignition tables. Adding fuel after the fact is simply a band aid.