Harley Davidson V-Rod Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
86 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay go easy on me here, I'm no mechanic (this will become painfully obvious). I just received my V-mod exhaust and am anxious to get it on. I cannot however get a allen wrench onto the screw/bolt that attaches the top chamber to the bottom chamber due to the shock blocking it. So I put the bike up on the lift and loosened the top shock bolt so I could swing the shock out of the way temporarily. However the shock bolt won't come out. I know I'm doing something stupid to make this far to difficult.

:banghead: :banghead: :banghead: :banghead:

·
Chad 02 V-ROD
1,364 Posts
I did not have to remove my shock to remove the pipes it should be an 6 mm allen just stand the allen up and use a monkey wrench on the end of the allen wrench to loosen check out this link.
http://www.v-rodforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1791

Sorry meant to put 6mm :kaz:

·
Registered
598 Posts
Do not worry about the screws holding the pipes together. Just loosen the clamps and remove the screw on the bottom side of the pipes, wiggle them up and down as you pull on them and the should come off. If you spray some lube at the clamps the wiggle off better. Make sure you have a beer next to you cause you will need it after you are done taking them off the first time. Good Luck!

·
Tired of the crap
2,819 Posts
justinh said:
I cannot however get a allen wrench onto the screw/bolt that attaches the top chamber to the bottom chamber due to the shock blocking it.
You should not have to remove the stock shock absorber to remove the stock mufflers.