Harley Davidson V-Rod Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Max, What are your thoughts here? I was riding home last night when the engine all of a sudden lost power. It would run, but it sounded like my old Briggs and Straton 5hp lawnmower. I pulled over to the side of the road and pulled off my pcrIIIr to see if that may have been the cause. It was not. I limped the bike home and checked the codes. P1356 came up. That tells me the rear cylinder is not firing. The bike has about 5700 miles on it and the plugs haven't been out of it. Any ideas on what it may be?? The problem seems to be intermittent. I can start the bike up and it will sound fine for about 10 seconds and then it will lose a cylinder. Sounds like an electrical problem to me but I'm no expert. Thanks in advance for any help.:confused:

·
Banned
12,582 Posts
Check the rear coil connection.It could have came loose or you might have a damaged wire!Check the plug while your there also.:cool:

·
Color me Gone
27,333 Posts
anguss is this by any chance an 03 that has not had the recall done yet. If I'm not mistaken the lean fuel condition could also set that code. Just a guess, it could also be the coil or plug for that cylinder.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks for your support gents. No resolution yet. I should be able to get it to the dealer on Wednesday, 12Nov03. I will keep you updated. Max, It's an 02. BTW, why are 02's not affected by this recall? Do I have a different flange design than the 03's?

·
Color me Gone
27,333 Posts
anguss I think that the 02 fuel tank unit was made to a different spec and did not have the problem that the 03 did. So far I have not heard of any of the 02's with leaking fuel flanges. I am aware that Kaz had a bad coil on his 02 and I think it was on the rear.

Max

·
Banned
12,582 Posts
Yep!:thumb

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Max, Kaz, and all others that may be interested,