Harley Davidson V-Rod Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Twisted!!!!!!!
1,471 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
You don't have to be an expert. I'm sure I'm not an expert myself but discussing this can do only one thing. HELP! :helpme:

Here's one. Do you go from lean to rich or the other way around?

How about this one? The RT has certain boundaries that cannot be crossed and the "ion sensor" detecting detonation is said in the manual to be "additional safety". Should I lean it out, use data mode, then adjust increased fuel and/or timing to compensate giving me better results :thumb: ?

Here's another. How come there's such difference between the front and rear timing charts? Not to mention the VE tables :rolleyes: :confused: .

Would any of this have anything to do with unequal length header design and unequal stacks? If so, will making the individual cylinders resemble each other the most give better results with equal length headers :cool: ?

Is tuning with a dyno a must :hmm: ? Maybe some can do tuning of his/her own then try it on a dyno. It would make for a more informed person having this bike tuned. Not to mention more fun if so inclined.

I have a ton of these :laugh: .

Attachments

·
Autobanmod
9,901 Posts
making the individual cylinders resemble each other the most give better results with equal length headers
Unquote

Maybe yes, but then you will likely have resonance (bad!) unless you completely separate both intakes.
I trust that the engine builders knew pretty well what they did when they adjusted the VE tables as we can see them now, changing the VE's without considerable changes to intake/exhaust systems will bring no improvement.
The ignition tables are strongly influenced by the VE tables, that is the main reason why the timing charts are different.