Harley Davidson V-Rod Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was thinking of running a higher octane fuel in the bike (110 Octane Race Fuel) I've got a stock 09 Muscle with VH comp. 2 into 1, K&N filter, topless, PC5 with Auto Tune. Just wanted to know what some of the experts thought on using this fuel in the bike and if it will have consequences for using it.

·
TURBONATOR
1,366 Posts
I'm not an expert but why do you think you need 110 octane on a stock bike? The consequences of using it will be $$ per gallon for more than likely alittle less power.

·
Registered
63 Posts
To get the octane that high normally requires lead like airplane avgas. Lead is bad for your bike. Zero increase in power. Zero increase in MPG. The higher octane is only an advantage if the engine can take advantage of it. Stock 09 will not.

Here is what it will do:

(1) lead foul your plugs
(2) create lead sludge in your crankcase
(3) slow down the flame front and give you less MPG
(4) ruin your O2 sensors

If your engine was turbocharged the higher octane would allow you to extract more power from the engine before detonation.

·
Registered
2,103 Posts
vp has several fuels that can increase hp in pump gas motors, only problem they usually require remapping.. octane is just a measure of resistance to detonation.. it doesn`t mean it has more hp.. some of the highest hp fuels for pump gas motors have a fairly low octane rating..also lead will ruin o2 sensors in a short period of time.. there are several unleaded race fuels that can increase your hp but once again it would require a special map,

·
Registered
11 Posts
Ok new question on this topic: