Harley Davidson V-Rod Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2003 V-Rod A
94 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
When puttin' through town at 35mph, the engine sounds nice and relaxed. I find that when my RPM is around 3K, I upshift to keep that nice relaxed sound.

When I get up to 40mph, the engine sounds just right in 4th gear. When I get to 50, I shift into 5th. Still sounding good. When I get up to 60 or more, the engine just "sounds" like it needs another gear. At around 60mph, I think I'm running about 3800 to 4000rpm (or somewhere in that vicinity).

Keep in mind, this is my first bike and I have NO experience with what is "normal". Is that normal? Don't want to work the hog too hard. :)

On another note, I am thrilled with the power of this machine. I was afraid for a first rider, it would be too much for me (some even said that). I can definitely say that it is PERFECT!

I got waived past a guy in a pickup truck who knew I was riding with two other guys who got ahead of him due to traffic patterns. When I rolled it on...AWESOME...I ROCKETED past the guy. It was GD empowering.

·
Registered
2008 VRSCD Night Rod
40 Posts
First off, congratulations on the new ride.

I had the same issue, but sort of knew what to expect. This is one of the issues HD didn't fix on the bike a 6th gear would be nice, jut they never offered it. I've never done research as to why.

The other thing is the real power band is above 4000 RPM. So when you roll on, you will see why this bike is fun to ride.

Sent from my SM-A516U using Tapatalk

·
Premium Member
2,427 Posts