Harley Davidson V-Rod Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Team,
I'm in the process of a potential V-Rod purchase and want to gleen all the useful information I can obtain. The bike I'm interested in is an 04 VRSC (no model known yet) with 27,500 miles on it. I've been riding for over 40 years but this will be my first V-Rod purchase. What should I look for when trying out this bike? Anything hidden that could potentially turn into an expensive repair?
I currently ride an 05 V-Star 1100

·
Mmm donut...
48 Posts
If the bike is owned by a forum member, search their posts to get an idea of the bike's history. That's how I did it and after reviewing for weeks the most talked about threads about gas gauges, head clunks, etc., I just decided what I could live with and went for it. I got a great bike at a great price that I can flog the crap out of and enjoy. Mine is a higher mileage bike as well - 2002 w/41k, but it runs strong and handles great!

I see you're in do-da too, look me up when you make you decision...

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
imnict,
So I trust from your purchase that you haven't run into any major (expensive) problems?
My last custom Harley, several years ago, was a constant headache, I don't want nor can I afford another garage queen.
Thanks

·
Mmm donut...
48 Posts
I've had to replace the rear brake switch (search the forums for the solution) and I think the clutch is the original one that came with the bike and I'll need to replace it before too long as it chatters when I launch it hard. A new SE slipper will fix that. I'm waiting for the winter weather to kill my joy then I'm going to replace the clutch.

I took it to Arkansas with a buddy and went tearing through the hills with it with no worries. The "Jasper Disaster" route is a blast on a V-rod.