Harley Davidson V-Rod Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
553 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Asking for some good advise today...

I fancy that I would like to polish the painted areas to a high polish, and while as a jeweler I have very vast experience in metal finishing I was wondering if anyone here has done this themselves, and what they ran into...

I love the chrome but I think that doing a mirror finish myself is the way to go... I'd like to start picking up extra parts to start the process, it seems to me that starting with unpainted parts will make it just that much easier... I've seen a couple polished sets on ebay but they were priced insane so I think I've just about decided to start this project... Has anyone had all their parts polished, and if so what was the cost if I might ask???

Since I have all the tools and gear to do this I'd be interested in anyone's experience with polished parts, and how that holds up in the real world?

Thanks in advance...

·
Dilligaf
5,393 Posts
The only problems with the polished parts is that they scratch if you just breath on them, but maybe someone makes a sealer or clearcoat for the polished aluminum.

·
Proud R Pilot
372 Posts
Just have them painted with clear after you polish, then you just maintian like any other painted surface.

·
20 Eyes in my Head
5,557 Posts
Donwe said:
Just have them painted with clear after you polish, then you just maintian like any other painted surface.
That's a bit trick to do. Talk to your local paint jobber and find out what they suggest. Clear needs two things....chemical bonding and physical bonding. The chemical is where the clear solvents etches itself onto the under lying layers and sort of welds itself to it for a durable protective and long lasting finish. Physical is where sanding comes it, but in this case, sanding will ruing your intended effect.