Harley Davidson V-Rod Forum banner
1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
106 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, I am new to HD and test drove 2013 Night Rod Special and started liking HD VROD. I saw a used (second owner) 2003 VRSC V-Rod Anniversary edition for sale and it has 16500 miles.

(1) what is its fair value? ( I don't want to overpay) Is KBB Value is worth considering?
(2) Anything I need to look out before I buy? ( I will ask for service history etc)
(3) Any known issue with this model?

Thanks !

·
Registered
103 Posts
Ponnu , read my enquiry , very similar , further down this page.
save yourself a lot of time and lost opportunity .
These bikes sem to me to be bullett proof ,,,,unless theyve been abused and neglected maintenance wise.
Im as happy as a pig in shyte with mine .
Good luck , Ill keep watching for replies to you question.
Regards Skiddin

·
Registered
106 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Skiddin,
Thank you. I went and saw the motorcycle today. Surprisingly the second owner does not have any maintenance records.. Let me try to find out more.. The bike seemed OK when I physically looked at it.

·
Killer Service Inc.
8,957 Posts
my bike is a 2003. No problems out of mine.

Things to look for.

1 swing arm bearing, had some go bad. put up on jack and lift up and down feel for grinding.
2 rear pulley bearing. up on jack spin wheel feel for rubbing.
3 coolant return line goes to cap, the nipples breaks off. Pull left vent cover and check
4 steering head bearing, no grease. Up on jack, steer bike left to right and feel for anything not right. it needs to be smooth. Most likely it will need grease anyhow.
5 fork oil, will need to be changed.
6 check fluids in brake and clutch reservoir, black need flushed.
7. check under the airbox to see if it has been changed over to topless. and what air filter is there and what tuner if any and if any are piggybacked.
8 plastic clip for seat, lift up seat and check at the hinge.
9 check belt for condition.