Harley Davidson V-Rod Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys - very newbie here - first Harley, mostly Ducati and BMW before.

Ordered the following spec

2011 VROD Muscle in Shiny Black

Black V&H Pro Exhaust
HD tuner and map to suit exhaust
K&N High flow air filter
440 progressive 13"
Progressive front springs
Diamond black pegs and pillion pegs
Diamond black grips
Black rear brake
Black gear lever
Black brake and clutch lever
Side mounted number plate in black
HID headlights
Pillion seat back rest

Simple questions
- is it worth getting the stage 2 cams done at this stage or should I run the bike in with the standard cams and get them changed at the first service?
- Do you need the 58TB's to make torque or do you just gain power and lose torque lower in the rev range? I have a BMW k1300R which makes 100lb/ft and 174bhp (flywheel) - not hung up on the power but would be happy closer to the same torque figures.

Dumb question - am I missing anything spec wise that is a no brainer.

thnx

Mike

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
And thats Reading in the UK, England, a long swim away - not your Reading, wherever that is!:)

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
With or without the TB conversion?
I only ask a I have experience of more air and fuel without headwork leading to a strong top end and a reduction in torque low down.
I'd sacrifice a bit of top end for more low down

thnx for the quick response

Mike

·
Registered Used
342 Posts
Welcome to the UK Section MikeT

So how about a supercharger?
I think a company advertises on e-bay, 160BHP for £3,500.
Now that will smoke the back tyre.
Cheers

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Supercharged quite a few but it's not remotely pretty on the bike and with standard (HC) pistons boost is required low and heat generation is high so chargecooler required for power which is more plumbing!!
I was just trying tokeep NA for now.

nice thought though

Mike