Harley Davidson V-Rod Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 2003 Harley V Rod and noticed that oil is seaping out of the very bottom of the bike, below what i believe is called the crankcase. I'm not a mechanic by no means so i'm quite lost. To describe it better: if you are sitting on the bike, the leak is on the left side, at the very bottom. It is right below where the crank case cover (i believe) attaches to the engine/motor. Is it possibly a bad gasket or something worse. The leak is about 2 inches or so behind the stator? wire that comes out of the bike. I don't see any oil actually coming out of the stator wire connection. It's more towards the very bottom of the bike along the seams of the crank case cover. There's no dripping on the floor of my garage, just oil seaping when i run my finger along the bottom under the bike.

Someone said to just seal it with silicone and it should be fine but i'm afraid to do that.

Anyone know what could be causing this problem or if it's any major concern?

·
Banned
4,421 Posts
leaking on my 03' & my 08dxa. the 03' they replaced the gasket a few times, finally they replaced the cover. i was informed that when they chromed it it left some imperfections. my 08dxa they replaced the gasket, so knock on wood it hasn't leaked since. hope this helps.

·
Sleep is over-rated
2,423 Posts
o god dont silicone it. take the pan off and inspect/replace the gasket.

·
durata membro
17,603 Posts
You need to examine the engine and determine where the oil is coming from first.Start at the top and look at the most common things that leak on these engines first.Remove the air box cover and the top of the air box.Make sure oil isn't puddling in the box and leaking down.Check the front and rear breather hoses.
There's more to check,but these are very common areas for leaks.

·
Voluptuous 'V'
515 Posts