Harley Davidson V-Rod Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This forum is terriffic. I have found a lot of information that has helped with my recent V-rod purchase. 3 weeks ago I bought a 2003 100th Anniv V-rod. The bike I have been riding for the last 15 years was a '77 KZ-650( striaght 4 cyl). The V-rod is a whole different riding style, being so long and raked out. Last weekend I was out for a 3 hour ride. Some sections had some good twisties. I could use some tips on cornering.

I scared the *?#* out of myself be scraping the pegs a few times. On the left it was just the front peg. On the right it was the peg and the bottom muffler. I recovered OK, but was worried about where the line is between just dragging the peg, and having the tires slip out from under you ( especially on the right side).

I suspect some advice will be " slow down", but that isn't much fun.

Thanks for your tips,

·
Premium Member
2,534 Posts
It scrapes pretty easy but is still sure footed. I have scraped the pegs, exhaust, frame,& radiator shroud it has never tried to get loose. That being said I'm sure there is a fine line you can cross and bust your a$$.

·
Dark Knight
1,505 Posts
These bikes will lean over quite nice without having to worry about the tire. You can scrape the cans and still have plenty of rubber left. The stock 180 is nice, but you may want to consider bumping up to a 200. You may have to remove the luggage brackets under the tail and modify your belt guards, but the extra rubber can be quite comforting. Just an option.

·
GA. BOY
2,462 Posts
and welcome to the forum, i have scraped lotr of parts on the rod and never got loose

·
V's and Z's
4,093 Posts
It will startle you the first few times it happens, then later you just ride on. I nearly wrecked after over-correcting the 2d time I scraped a peg.

·
Sua Sponte
1,560 Posts