Harley Davidson V-Rod Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, just wanted to say hello. I've been riding for about 15 years now, from my CB750 to CB1100F, then onto my VTX1300C. I'll be honest, I never liked Harleys before I tried the V-Rod. I used to run production for a machine shop that had a small motorcycle accessory brand in-house. We had all kinds of bikes in the shop, and I was lucky enough to have the opportunity to ride a lot of different bikes. I always liked the power of the Suzuki M109R but wasn't very excited about the handling or the overall clunkiness of it.

When we went on group rides they would always give me the "old man mobile" which was a Harley Road King. I remember that bike being really comfortable, all of the parts had a great level of quality and finish. Problem was, the first time I rode it... I thought the motor was broken. I remember asking the bike guru in the shop what was wrong with it. I said the thing can barely accelerate on the highway. He laughed and said "It's a Harley." I never realized before that Harleys didn't have gobs of power! Rode a softail after that, same thing. Rode the 1200 Sportser... it was fun enough... I would say it had "OK" power.

Anyway, I got into cruisers a bit and decided they were all slow, so I might as well get another trusty old Honda. The VTX1800 was fun but sort of funky to ride, and wasn't impressed with the engine that much. Rode the 1300 and loved the bike.

4-5 years of riding that VTX1300C with my girlfriend on the back and I wanted more power. I started the web search and came upon the V-Rod.

Test drove one and was just absolutely flabbergasted. There's no way this is a Harley! The finish/quality is all there, hand controls just feel so well refined and solid... but... the motor... oh my god the motor!