Harley Davidson V-Rod Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
179 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, I just got an 03 vrsca last week and am loving it, however I have a few issues that I am not sure if they are serious problems or not.

1 - When I accelerate hard my bike shakes, this happens at any speed. If I stop accelerating, the bike stops shaking and rides smoothly. Its my first harley so I don't know what to expect.

2 - My shift linkage bar seems loose, the bolt is impossible to tighten anymore but I have about 1 cm of play from left to right, down the length of the screw. Also the screw has a rounded top, so I really have no way of tightening other than trying with a wrench (which isn't working). Should this shift linkage be able to move around like that?

Thanks in advance for any help or comments.

·
Registered
179 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Any tips are appreciated, I'm a complete noob at this stuff, just not sure if I should pay to get it looked at, because I will be charged even if its normal! :moped:

·
Premium Member
11,280 Posts
Bike shaking could be your "Fall away" adjustment is out of whack. The search facility will yield many post regarding this issue.

The shift linkage issue - The rod should be tight at the ends where the screw goes through the little ball on the ends of the shift rod. The rod itself will pivot somewhat on the balls.
Go to ace hardware and get a good screw if you know the size or go to the H-D dealer and get the proper screw. Both the front and rear screws are the same size.

SUGGESTION: If you plan to work on your bike yourself get a Service manual, a Parts manual and the Electrical diagnostics manual. They will pay for themselves the first time you use them. Dealer labor rates are around $90 USD per hour. The three books will set you back about $125.
The "Fall away" adjustment is doumented in the service manual.

Post a picture of the loose shift linkage bar if you can.

·
Registered
179 Posts
Discussion Starter #4