Harley Davidson V-Rod Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just bought an 08 DX and would like to replace the sewing machine pipes it came with. I could go with some really loud pipes like CFR's or Rhinehart's and I'm sure I'd love them. The only problem is the guards at the gate would never let me on base with them. I have Screamin Eagle's on my FLSTSI and no one has ever said anything and I'm satisfied with their sound. So I'm asking for some suggestions on pipes for the DX (not chrome) that will be similar in sound (low rumble) to my SE's but also give me some extra performance. I'll be adding a K&N, Gil's Box and going topless at the same time. Was thinking about SuperTrapps or Tabs so far. Thanx!

·
Dilligaf
5,393 Posts
Or you can have your pipes modded.

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I'm new to VRods but I've heard of drilling 1/2" holes in the end caps and removing baffles. I understand that drilling improves sound, but not performance and removing baffles, wouldn't that be just like running straight pipes/open headers???

·
Color me Gone
27,333 Posts
I thought I saw some supertrap cans on some that not only look nice but they let you change the end caps as you desire so you can get the exact tone your looking for. Just a thought.

·
Registered
140 Posts
I ride with Thunderheaders and have never had the guards at the gate stop me.

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
JD_V-Rod said:
I ride with Thunderheaders and have never had the guards at the gate stop me.
Yeah but I think the Navy is more anal than the Air Force.

·
Premium Member
1,084 Posts
I'll second the modded pipes. It's cost effective, sounds good, and will still meet all sound level specs.

·
Registered
309 Posts