Harley Davidson V-Rod Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Banned
3,228 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have never used loctite before and never been aware of its use on any other bikes I've owned (if I couldn't undo something it was usually due to rust!)
I wondered whether it is commonly used on Harley's because of the vibration problem and if so is it really necessary on a V Rod?
I ask because with the very few things I have taken apart so far I have not used Loctite when I've reassembled.
Thanks
Christine

·
just a ghost now
2,719 Posts
With my old softail and my ex Titan, mild Loctite(blue) was the standard for every nut, bolt disassembled, if you wanted them to stay tight indefinitely. On my vrod, I still use the blue, just a small amount, out of habit perhaps. I still think its a good idea on mirror or fairing or turn signal mountings, bolts and screws you don't plan on touching for years. But I would say as smooth as the vrod is and its lack of vibration, you probably don't need loctite on general fasteners except where required per the service manual. Compared to my former softail, its a very smooth ride.

·
Registered
34 Posts
Hi Christine,

It`s always a good idea to put a small drop of loctite (I use blue) on anything you take apart on a v-rod - it stops them coming loose with the vibration.
Perhaps see you at the barn on Sunday !! Are you still on the 30T pulley or have you switched to the 28T yet ?

·
Tired of the crap
2,819 Posts
Christine said:
if I couldn't undo something it was usually due to rust!
In addition to its threadlocking properties, blue Loctite also prevents the galling, or cold-welding, of threads we usually ascribe to "rust".

So, used correctly, it can actually make it easier to remove fasteners (when you want to) as well as help keep them in place. Usually a Loctited fastener will come loose with a light "snap" as the bond is broken, and then you rotate it free as normal.