Harley Davidson V-Rod Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have an '06 Night Rod, 2.5 lb Boss Noss stealth system, SuperTrapp Kerker K mufflers. Dyno'd at 146 hp with the button on. Just moved to an area with a lot of drag strips and want to take her for a run. I can fly through the gears with or without the juice but only from a rolling start. Tips from the pro's on how to preform a textbook "LAUNCH"?

·
LIFETIME MEMBER
1,373 Posts
I'm no professional racer but practice is the only thing you can do to learn how to "launch" your bike for the best et... There are several racers on this forum that will be able to give you some tips...

Here's what I know from personal experience... Make sure the motor is at temperature, then do a proper burn out to heat up the tire and get it sticky... Learn to feather the clutch at take off... If you just dump the clutch you will either smoke the tires or wheelie... Both will cost you time...

Proper air pressure in your tire for the current track conditions... Learn the sweet spot on your bike and motor for a shifting point... Use a good shift light and set it for your optimum rpm for shifting gears...

Again, practice and more practice is really the only thing that will perfect your launch... There are so many varibles to consider when your drag racing... Outside temperatures, track temperatures etc., it just takes time in the saddle to gain the experience...

Again, I'm not a pro... I just do the illegal out in the middle of no where drag race :)... If your serious about racing, a Pingle or similar electric or air shift kit is a must for drag racing and a variable lock up clutch... Goodluck and be safe...

·
brett
9,338 Posts
sorry i cant do linky thing, but go down this list of threads and click on one by dr dave on failure to launch ,lots of good tips there,

·
drag racer
6,699 Posts