Harley Davidson V-Rod Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
683 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
HELP!!
excuse me as i am not very experienced with my dx but am trying to learn, so be gentle , and i need your guys help... please.
got a DX with tab tuner.
haven't f**ked around with the tuner for over 1000 k's.
today, ran out of gas... ok stupid :banghead: , but got a jerrycan and everything was ok...
tonight, powerwashed the bike, and now.... sh*t!:bash:
bike starts, revs when i twist the throttle, and then decides it doesn't want to anymore and dies. won't restart immediately, but if i wait, it restarts and same again. if i just leave idling when i do get it to start, i lasts less than a minute and then dies. again, it won't restart right away, i have to wait.
get a bit of black smoke on starting, and one time when it wouldn't fire up, a few puffs of white smoke
i'm thinking that i may have shorted the fuse to the cooling fan (it is 34°C here) but don't know what fuse circuit it is on and i already tried swapping out the different fuses, and this didn't work. .
otherwise... WHAT CAN I DO??? there is a 3 week wait at the dealers just to talk to the tech, let alone get work done, and i really think it must be something simple.... please help?

·
1130cc.comaholic
13,241 Posts
to start with something simple you could take off the tuner and see if the bike will start and run without it and then you would at least know if it's that or not. Other than that I'm not smart enough to answer your question :D

·
Registered
683 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
i took of the airbox cover and checked the tuner... there is power getting to it and it is not shorted as the LED lights up fine, plus the bike will turn over for a short period of time... if it was the tuner, surely it wouldn't turn over at all?

sorry, forgot to say thanks for your input!

·
Dilligaf
5,393 Posts
Is the bike throwing any codes?

·
Go IRISH!
727 Posts