Harley Davidson V-Rod Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just got a brand new 2008 VRSCAW. I went from a Buell to a Harley so this is my first.
I have put about 300 miles on it so far and I have started to hear some weird noises.
In the front end I hear a high pitched squeak in the front forks when I am hitting road bumps in town at slow speeds.
ALSO
I am hearing a low end squeaking/scraping/grinding noise from the rear end.
I can only hear it at low speeds also.
It sorts reminds me of a noise that I would hear in a car when a front end bearing is about to go out.

Do these sounds ring any bells with anyone?
Like I said I am new to Harley so I do not know the odd sounds they might make during the break-in period.

Any help here would be great.

Thanks

·
Non-erator
9,795 Posts
Let me take it out for a ride for a few days and I'll let you know if they are normal or not.

Welcome to the Forums!

·
Damaged Goods.....
599 Posts
Get louder pipes- its all good then....

Hey Welcome to the forums!!

·
jacket off!
9,720 Posts
lightingguy1988 said:
In the front end I hear a high pitched squeak in the front forks when I am hitting road bumps in town at slow speeds.
ALSO
I am hearing a low end squeaking/scraping/grinding noise from the rear end.
I can only hear it at low speeds also.
It sorts reminds me of a noise that I would hear in a car when a front end bearing is about to go out.
Front end - Is it possible that you may be mistaking the swishing of the oil in the shocks for this squeak?

Rear end - It sounds like two different things, 1 being the belt on the rear pulley and 2 being the brake pads slightly rubbing the rotor.

Keep in mind it's kinda hard to diagnose a noise without hearing it but I can tell you that the way you describe the noises reminds me of some of the same sounds in the same areas I've experienced.

And by the way, WELCOME!:D

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
******* said: