Harley Davidson V-Rod Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Banned
4,421 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i have an 08dxa w/INDY PIPE (black ceramic from jet-hot)/SERT/K&N FILTER. i haven't started it for apprx. 6 weeks, so i decided to run it for at least 20-30min., had it running for apprx. 10 min. then reved it up a little, fluctuating from idle to 5500rpm's. well, i noticed the rear header pipe glowing bright red. the front was not as bright but it did go away quickly as i let it idle. my question is...is this normal? i don't remember any of my bikes doing this. please advise, thanx.

·
Premium Member
1,494 Posts
sounds like it is a bit lean but im no expert.

·
durata membro
17,603 Posts
You shouldn't rev any efi engine sitting still in neutral.There is not enough of a load on the engine.This keeps the mapp sensor from telling the ecm to richen up the fuel.It will run dangerously lean.The exhaust glowing red is proof of this.

·
LIFETIME MEMBER
1,373 Posts
Yup, bad juju to do that sitt'en still... You were probably close to burning your exhaust valve on the rear...

·
Registered
1,980 Posts
Yup, bad juju to do that sitt'en still... You were probably close to burning your exhaust valve on the rear...
There fixed it fer ya

·
Premium Member
7,727 Posts
During my 15min @ 2000rpm cam break in my Stainless Comp pipe was red all the way to the "muffler". Shut it down after about 10 minutes.

BTW: Let her sleep. No reason to fire it up during storage. Just causes condensation and fuel dilution.

·
Banned
4,421 Posts
Discussion Starter #8