Harley Davidson V-Rod Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just hade this bike a week so bare with me but this has happend twice so i had to ask. Fuel light came on and by the time i pulled in to the station i was on E but still running. But when i filled up it would only take 1.4 gallons of gas. Granted i am new to this bike so i am probably on the throttle a bit but the math still doesnt add up it should take way more fuel than this from E obviously. There are V&H pipes on her and not sure about a tuner of any kind since i just bought her. Any ideas for a new vrod guy would be appreciated kinda scrathing my head on this one 1.4 gallon fillup from E makes no sense.

Thanks Brett

·
Ducking for cover!
8,455 Posts
Welcome to V-Rod ownership! :D

Use your odometer instead of your gauge.

·
Premium Member
4,061 Posts
I thought after reading alot here,the low fuel LIGHT was accurate,but just the gauges were off....so the light is also wrong?

also,if anyone can tell me approx how far a 5 gallon tank will go on ODO that will help me...Ive read alot about poor gauges,i cannot believe they cant make a gauge that works...wow.

Dan

·
Scott
492 Posts
to bbrets ?: 80 miles city - 120 max highway

·
Premium Member
Pan American Son of VROD :-)
1,090 Posts
I ran the tank dry this weekend at 112mi (3.7 gal tank).... I used my reserve (MSR fuel can) to get to the next gas station.

·
Registered
232 Posts
Just had mine fixed

Took 3 weeks but it works great. Always count the miles:cuckoo

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
thanks for the ballpark on milage. Whats got me wondering about it all though is even when the low fuel light comes on and i pull in to fuel it up it will only take 1.4 gallons on a 3.7 gallon tank makes no sense to me. Guess i will have to watch to odo a little closer next ride.

·
Premium Member
6,248 Posts
NOS-DAN said: