Harley Davidson V-Rod Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
ok, I'm new to all this fuel injection on bikes, but word has it that in order to run a different set of pipes and go topless, a guy needs a fuel management system to put more fuel into the engine, (that makes sense). I want to go topless, k&n, and run some sort of free flowing exhaust, maybe just a Vmod or depending on what I can find, maybe a higher end pipe. The problem I have is I have no idea if I buy a MAP, or PCIII, racetuner, flash, or dynojet, frankly, I don't even know the differences. All I need is something to make my bike run properly when I do these mods, something very simple to install, and that I can't screw up. What exactly do I need to buy? Thanks

·
243 Posts
A Gil's Box sounds like an easy way to go. Call them and they ask your particular VROD setup, he sets it up for you, then all you have to is plug it in. He nailed mine perfectly, runs awesome, noticeable difference. Call 702-655-9341, $219.95 + shipping. 30 min install, no splicing, plug and play.

·
Subluxation Free
172 Posts
Great sound, nice power, good price!
Might I suggest the following:
1) Drill the pipes yourself. See http://www.1130cc.com/forums/showthread.php?t=65274 for more info and links to several Threads explaining how.
2) Get an air filter such as K&N or Screaming Eagle. Then install filter and go topless. See http://www.1130cc.com/forums/showthr...hlight=topless
3) DO NOT get the ECM computer remapped from Harley. Leave it stock and then purchase a Power Commander III USB. Shop around online as you can spend from $359 (list) down to about $100 less that that.
4) Install all these and get a map for the PC III see http://www.1130cc.com/forums/showthr...5605&highlight . I recommend the following map file: Vmod-kn-topoff-todd.djm
The total cost of this is under $350, great sound, nice power, good price!

·
THE DORK-ROD
344 Posts