Harley Davidson V-Rod Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
224 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First of hello everyone, I have been lurking for a while and as of 2 days ago am th proud new owner of a 06 D, now I love the bike to death (save for it being too quiet) but I have an issue under front wheel braking I get a hop (up and down not left right) and even the brake lever moves, the front tire looks like it has uneven wear and I hope that is the only reason but would that make the lever move too or am I looking a warped roters/bent wheel? Also one other question I did the baffel drill mod 8 5/16's holes per pipe and it sounds much better but on deceleration it cracks and pops quite a bit and that make me nervous, does that mean I over did it? I am a welder by trade so I figured if it ran like crap I could always fab up a new plate to cover the holes. It feels like it runs fine but I don't want to cause engine dammage just to get more sound...
Thanks for any help!
(Pics for clicks)

·
Registered Idiot
5,461 Posts
Welcome and nice bike. As far as the wobble, I would start with the tire, if it is obviously cupped then it needs replaced any way. Do not get the Dunlop.
Do the fallaway test and adjustment, this is the neck bearing/triple tree adjustment. Once these are done then see how feels, if you still have issues then I would look at rotors.
These bikes are tuned lean from the factory and benefit from a good dyno tune, even stock bikes. You could get the ecm reflashed by the dealer and that may be enough to for that muffler mod.
The best advice I have ever recieved from the forum, buy the service manual and learn how to do basic stuff to your bike.

·
Pat (Patrick!)
11,222 Posts
You should be able to drill 8, 1/2 '', holes without problems. I did 8 , 7/16 holes on my '04.
Check your front Rotors for true. There have been some instances of warping, but I thought it was with the '08's

·
Registered
89 Posts