Harley Davidson V-Rod Forum banner

1 - 20 of 90 Posts

·
K.I.A. '07 AW
10,908 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been bitching about my $hitty fuel gauge for over 3 years now and I know I'm not alone. I filed a complaint with NHTSA and I am urging any and everyone that has been living with a faulty fuel gauge on their VRSC to log on to the website (link provided below as well as in my signature) and file a complaint as well.
If we all band together and make our voices heard at a government level, we are more likely to get a real fix for this issue instead of yet another part number change and no fix.

http://www-odi.nhtsa.dot.gov/ivoq/index.cfm

·
K.I.A. '07 AW
10,908 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
So, I received a phone call from HD corporate today regarding our fuel gauges (sonar folks). The gist of it is that they now realize that the last fixes were feble attempts to fix the problem and never intended to "band aid" the issue.
They have since gone back to the engineers and program writers to correct the issue at the source.
Allegedly there will be a SB put out within the next 30 days when the repair package/parts are in stock. I will keep you posted but won't hold my breath.

·
Fear The Reaper
1,152 Posts
Why don't they just get rid if the fuel gauge altogether. No one really uses it anyways. This is a liquid cooled bike. Remake the instrument cluster and put a temp gauge there instead.

·
caferacer
5,686 Posts
feeble attempt. ..bandaged

:deal:please don't hold your breath.....
Andre'....may vrod owners with an expired warranty sign such a petition ? MOCO patched the problem till mine expired.
I'm reckoning I need to Petition for a recalled part.
Do We need a lawyer?

·
caferacer
5,686 Posts
dipstick

Why don't they just get rid if the fuel gauge altogether. No one really uses it anyways. This is a liquid cooled bike. Remake the instrument cluster and put a temp gauge there instead.
Gas Cap with dip stick.

·
Premium Member
117 Posts