Harley Davidson V-Rod Forum banner

Which V-mod exhaust do you prefer for both sound quality and performance?

• Stock V-Rod mufflers (make no changes)

Votes: 4 4.9%
  • Stock SE Slip-on's

Votes: 13 15.9%
  • Classic V-mod

Votes: 20 24.4%
  • SE V-mod

Votes: 19 23.2%
  • Other (prefer a complete exhaust system change)

Votes: 26 31.7%

• Total voters
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Live Free or Die
938 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This discussion originally started on the old forum, I thought that I would resurrect it for the newer newbies (since I am still a newbie myself).

After waiting a longtime, my dealer finally told me that my SE slip-on's were on backorder (no availability date) with the Mo. I got Hale's to ship me a set in time for the weekend. Although I'm staring out the window at heavy rain -- tomorrow I should be able to get 125 miles on all kinds of roads. What little riding I got in last night after work, shows me that these Stock SE Slip-on's sound great!. What a difference! :)

I packaged up the stock units and on Monday morning they go out to be V-mod'd. I'll compare the two after the V-mods come back.

You guys had some informative comments about exhaust sound and performance, so I thought that I would put up a poll and get some of those comments onto this new forum.

Unfortunately the poll maxes out at 5 choices, so I only include the V-mod vs. stock options here. We can start another poll for the more popular full exhaust systems if this group has opinions about that type of product.

Please post your comments and tell us why...

·
If You Ain't Cav...
2,069 Posts
SE 16 Ga

There are two different types of the SE slip ons as I'm sure you know.. the ones that appear stock with the "sweeping" style, and the 16Ga Dbl Barrel style. Both use the stock head pipes.