Not from 'round here
1,632 Posts
Discussion Starter #1

·
Killer Service Inc.
8,938 Posts
I am a elevator inspector.

Been inspecting for 10 years.

That test is okay for those that know elevators.

Most people will not know the answers because thay just get on and ride up and down.

It is funny to see how many people still try to get on the elevator even with the lights turned off.

The article was very well written and to the point. I see this all the time and usually become the bad guy.
I become the bad guy because I have to shut the unit off do to life or limb issuses or non compliant issues.

Thank you for your time and effort and trying to help others out. Alot of owners need to be more informed about their elevators instead of, I don't know ai just called them.

What really gets me is that the code requires the mechanic to detail the service work. So in the comments section all you get is SERVICE.

Rod
S-146

·
Pat (Patrick!)
11,222 Posts
I use to help build Hydraulic elevators, when I was a welder.
It wasn't a highly rated company. They went out of business shortly after I was laid off!
(I only got 8 out of 10 right!)

·
Registered Idiot
5,461 Posts
Interesting read and quiz, i don,t agree with several answers though. There are no battery lights in our elevators and only 4 out of 12 units are on emergency power. However it may be due to the type of usage versus code requirements since we are a sports facility. Maryland has odd laws and loopholes.
Anyway, gave me some things to think about when we put our contract out for bid in 2012
We are dealing with Schindler right now and the tech is decent guy who takes good care of us.

·
Killer Service Inc.
8,938 Posts
Interesting read and quiz, i don,t agree with several answers though. There are no battery lights in our elevators and only 4 out of 12 units are on emergency power. However it may be due to the type of usage versus code requirements since we are a sports facility. Maryland has odd laws and loopholes.