Harley Davidson V-Rod Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Ex Night Rodder
152 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am in the process of doing the valve adjustment on my '06 DRod, and am using the factory service manual. Being an aircraft mechanic by trade, I've spent over 20 years working on sh*t in tight places with little or no room for error, so this isn't exactly my first rodeo. However I have never dug this far into a Vrod before so I am being cautious.
My question is, Is it easier to do the complete valve adjustment including final torque of the valve covers, with the engine out? I still am in the process of removing the last valve cover (fwd) and am wondering just how the heck I am going to get an accurate torque on the valve covers while having to reach through my arse like some of those bolts require? Access holes my *ss!
The manual already has me loosening the aft exhaust mount and the fwd engine mount. I already have the coolant hoses off as well as many other things. Reading the manual, it looks as though I am about halfway to having the engine out anyway.
Any suggestions?:wazzup:

·
Color me Gone
27,333 Posts
I doubt there is any way to torque the cam cover bolts with the engine in the bike. If you plan to use a torque wrench on those you probably will have to remove the engine.

·
Ex Night Rodder
152 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks Max, that's kind of what I suspected. Sure would be a good time to go the bigger tank kit... DAMN FINANCES!!!:banghead:
Thanks again...
Mitch

·
The Hawk
3,895 Posts
It would be much easier to do it with the engine out, but taking the engine out is a whole nuther can of worms. The valve cover bolt torque is not critical at all and using the ole forearm torque wrench works just fine.

Mike

·
Blowin' Smoke
2,647 Posts