Harley Davidson V-Rod Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I purchased a new '04 V-rod Friday and drove it for about sixty miles. When I got home, I saw coolant splattered all over the engine. When I took the cover off of the bike to inspect the coolant reservoir, I saw that the hose had snapped off the reservoir cap. I'm no mechanic, but I believe that's the hose sending the coolant back into the reservoir from the engine. The coolant level was also extremely low. I'm not too worried about getting that fixed, as the warranty will cover it (seeing how the bike was purchased about two days ago). I'm worried, however, that I may have caused engine damage, especially since there's only about 60 miles on the engine. I rode very conservatively (following the break in procedures, keeping it under 4000 rpm and not accelerating like a wild man), and the temperature light never came on. Is my engine ok? Thanks.

·
just a ghost now
2,719 Posts
Your engine should be fine Benko, probably didn't even run hot. That hose is for thermal expansion of fluid in radiator, engine, hoses, as engine heats up to normal operating temps. As engine cools, coolant to drawn back into coolant loop as coolant volume shrinks. What you saw all over your engine was this expansion liquid, not nearly all of your system coolant. Just get it fixed before riding again, and have them check coolant level in engine/hoses too(main cap).

·
Pete K
192 Posts
benko said: