Harley Davidson V-Rod Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Fireman/investigator
1,965 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all. I know this has been covered, but wanted to share my experience with you all. My replacement anniversary tank badge finally came in (6 months after being reported) and while I was getting it changed, I thought I would ask the service manager some questions. Now, I have had some good experiences with this guy... he has taken care of some things for me when needed, and even gone above and beyond the call a couple of times, so I fell a little bit of loyalty to him. However, I do feel that the dealership in general is robbing me anytime I walk in there. So, I mention that I am finally ready to do some performance upgrades to my baby, and what can I do that won't void my warranty. Without a blink, he grabs the '04 HD catalog and says "Screaming Eagle. ANYTHING else will void your warranty." I ask about the Race Tuner, knowing it's a race only application, and that is addressed in the warranty. He tells me that it is ok. Then quotes me "about a grand" for SE slip ons, SE1 download, SE filter, and R/t, including labor. So, judging from this, I will probably end up returning my extended warranty, and doing what I want. Kind of stinks, because, like I said, I feel like I have a good relationship with this guy. Oh well, thanks for the rant space.:soapbox: :blahblah:

·
Ghost Rider
533 Posts
I feel it too..

In my experience, dealing with the dealer has been great on the sales experience and not so great on the service.

I brought in my ’04 for the 1K service and to install some doo-dads. I’m perfectly capable of doing all wiring and mechanical work required for what I was installing but I wanted to maintain my warranty so I bit the bullet.