Harley Davidson V-Rod Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I own a 07 vrod muscle and its my first ever bike and im new to riding. However it was bought used and only has a pc3 with a vance and hines exhaust. Also i did recently do a repair on the common stator wire oil leak which helped a funny little "click" in the rear when taking off from a stand still.

However when i aggressively shift and take it to redline in 1st, ill hit 2nd and the rpms dont seem to drop like i see on other videos and tend to stay in the 7k-8k range then when hitting 3rd same thing.....it seems the engine is constanly revving around those rpms when im shifting. Doesnt seem normal to me. Sometimes when hitting the trottle in 2nd, the rpms will go up ....then around the 6k they shoot up like its slipping. Then hitting 3rd it will rev high like i explained earlier. I tend to take each gear to redline and after 1st to 2nd shift i shift without using the clutch lever.

I thought normal.operation would be the rpms dropping to say 5k and then climb each gear change. Is this normal? Em i shifting this bike to aggressively?

Driving in 5th at 60mph and hitting full throttle it doesnt slip. It seems to hold.

·
Premium Member
6,248 Posts
I own a 07 vrod muscle and its my first ever bike and im new to riding....
... when i aggressively shift and take it to redline in 1st, ill hit 2nd and the rpms dont seem to drop like i see on other videos and tend to stay in the 7k-8k range then when hitting 3rd same thing.....it seems the engine is constanly revving around those rpms when im shifting. Doesnt seem normal to me. Sometimes when hitting the trottle in 2nd, the rpms will go up ....then around the 6k they shoot up like its slipping. Then hitting 3rd it will rev high like i explained earlier. I tend to take each gear to redline and after 1st to 2nd shift i shift without using the clutch lever.