Harley Davidson V-Rod Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
custom title user
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
had a few questions for the forum.

has anyone else lost clutch function while riding (wont disengage), pulled over to see WTF happened, and discovered the whole right side of the bike behind the slave cylinder bathed in dot4?

has anyone else taken their brand new, $300+ a month bike to their local dealer only to have it sit there (for a week so far) without so much as being looked at?

i am a mechanic and if i let a warranty claim sit untouched for a week i would be loading up my box movin on down the road and my boss would be packing up his files and pictures as well.

this is my second purchase from this dealer (route 66 in tulsa) and my first issue. i have heard horror stories that make me think this is the norm for harley dealers. this particular dealer had my buddies v-rod (also a forum member) for 97 days after it fell over at about 2mph in the sand. i reluctantly took my v-rod to them because i bought it there and thought i might get treated like a paying customer.

any ideas? recommendations?

i need a job where i can fiddle fart around for weeks at a time, bolting on little chrome bits while warranty claims sit and rot, that would sure be the life. talk about stress free!

·
Friend of Max.
21,719 Posts
It sounds like an issue with the slave cylinder. It could be as simple as the bleed screw coming loose. There are only three bolts there for you to take off the cover and have a peek. The trouble should be obvious, if you have someone pump that clutch while you look. If you're lucky, adding a bit of DOT 4 to the master and bleeding it a bit and you're off.

HOWEVER....

If the rear of your bike took a bath in DOT 4, look closely at the paint and frame and make sure you aren't having issues with the Brake Fluid eating up your paint. If it is, then let the dealer do the work under warranty. :2cents:

·
custom title user
35 Posts