Harley Davidson V-Rod Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a newbie and this is my second HD (First - Street Bob) and first V-Rod. It's an 05 VRSCA with 26k on the clock. I recently bought it from a main HD dealer.

The problem I am experiencing seems to happen after I have been riding the bike for say about 30 minutes. It seems really difficult to to move off smoothly after stopping at junctions, traffic lights and in heavy stop/start traffic. I am convinced it's fine for the first 30 minutes or so, when everything to my mind seems smooth.

When hot it quite easy to stall, and if I compensate with more revs, I end up taking off as if I am attempting to break the 1/4 mile acceloration record! That's a bit of a problem when turning 90 degrees sharp left (I am in the UK) at a set of traffic lights. If I don't give the bike enough revs it will probably stall or it will jump about as if I have tried to move away in 3rd gear. All in all it's not very nice to ride in urban situations.

Once on it's way it's fine, gear changes are fine and there is not any clutch slippage that I have noticed in 5th. The only other thing I have noticed is that when ithe engine is cold or near cold, I can engage neutral easily. When it's hot I can't and it jumps from 1st to 2nd to 1st to 2nd and so on. It's more luck than skill if I can get neutral when hot.

I would really appreciate your comments as I don't want to go back to the dealer if this is actually normal or it just due to my inexperience.

BTW I can't recall have any clutch issues with my Street Bob, so it's maybe not me after all.

Thanks.

·
Friend of Max.
21,719 Posts
What you're describing sounds clutch related.

Weather the clutch is wearing or the hydraulic fluid system on the clutch lever side needs to be addressed is a bit difficult to ascertain from your description.