Harley Davidson V-Rod Forum banner

1 - 20 of 67 Posts

·
O5' CVO - $12,000
Joined
·
707 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Tell me, if I change the 28t front pully on my 05' CVO SE, do I need to change my belt as well? If so is there anyone here with this kit for sale?
 

·
O5' CVO - $12,000
Joined
·
707 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
38 views and not one simple answer!

Is it really that hard of a question. Yeah I used search and was still not quite sure.
 

·
Registered Abuser
Joined
·
2,894 Posts
I have a 30 Tooth gear and belt I took off my 2002 I could sell you. It is in great shape.

$175 shipped to your door.
 

·
Color me Gone
Joined
·
27,333 Posts
You also need to change the hub out of the trans, it is a different size for the 30 tooth sprocket.
 

·
SpeedoDocter
Joined
·
2,364 Posts
did'nt the cvo-SE models had a wide 240 tire already in 05? seen the narow belt and offset pully.
 

·
O5' CVO - $12,000
Joined
·
707 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
ANNIEZZ said:
did'nt the cvo-SE models had a wide 240 tire already in 05? seen the narow belt and offset pully.
No, the 05' CVE SE has the wide belt and the 180 rear tire is stock. The 240 was stock on th 06' CVO SEII.
 

·
O5' CVO - $12,000
Joined
·
707 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
6,248 Posts
Hi-Def said:
Tell me, if I change the 28t front pully on my 05' CVO SE, do I need to change my belt as well? If so is there anyone here with this kit for sale?
As mentioned, a 150T belt is required to run a 30T front pulley. The two different flanges floating around might make this a problem with compatibility. The 2005 bikes with a 40345-04 28T pulley have the 35423-04K flange. The 40341-04 30T HDI front pulley will fit on these bikes. If you get a 40341-01 2002 30T domestic pulley you will also need the older 35423-01K 2002 flange.

There are also two kits available with pulleys, belts, flanges, bolts, etc. The 40008-04K kit is for changing to a 30T HDI pulley and the 40014-04K is for switching to the 28T pulley. I don't know if anyone here has the 30T kit to sell you.
 

·
O5' CVO - $12,000
Joined
·
707 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
stever975 said:
As mentioned, a 150T belt is required to run a 30T front pulley. The two different flanges floating around might make this a problem with compatibility. The 2005 bikes with a 40345-04 28T pulley have the 35423-04K flange. The 40341-04 30T HDI front pulley will fit on these bikes. If you get a 40341-01 2002 30T domestic pulley you will also need the older 35423-01K 2002 flange.

There are also two kits available with pulleys, belts, flanges, bolts, etc. The 40008-04K kit is for changing to a 30T HDI pulley and the 40014-04K is for switching to the 28T pulley. I don't know if anyone here has the 30T kit to sell you.
So, it seems that I need to keep my eye out for a 30T HDI pulley and a standard width 150T belt.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
6,248 Posts
Hi-Def said:
So, it seems that I need to keep my eye out for a 30T HDI pulley and a standard width 150T belt.
Yes, you should look for a 40341-04 30T HDI pulley. Any of the 150T belts should work (narrow or wide).
 

·
1130cc Ninja
Joined
·
3,972 Posts
to throw a question and alternate option here....

would it be easier to swap the rear sprocket size rather than fighting offsets on the front?
 

·
O5' CVO - $12,000
Joined
·
707 Posts
Discussion Starter · #14 ·
stever975 said:
Yes, you should look for a 40341-04 30T HDI pulley. Any of the 150T belts should work (narrow or wide).
But my rear pully is the wider width. I would not want to put a narrow on this right. My ride is an 05' SE and it has the reactor chrome wheels with matching pully.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
6,248 Posts
Hi-Def said:
But my rear pully is the wider width. I would not want to put a narrow on this right. My ride is an 05' SE and it has the reactor chrome wheels with matching pully.
The narrow belt will work okay on a wide pulley. HD claims it's just as strong if not stronger than the wide belt. The difference might be availability with more of the wide belts around from people who have switched to the 28T front pulley.

myvrodrocks said:
Do the pulleys have the part number on them?
I'm not sure. I'll look at the ones I have when I get home.
 

·
1130cc Ninja
Joined
·
3,972 Posts
myvrodrocks said:
Find one....
so when you order a pulley from PM when you get a set of wheels you dont specify the teeth on the pulley?
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
6,248 Posts
Update on this swap

Somebody with an '06 SEII says that a 149T belt fits on 30T pulley. I can't imagine how he got the belt over the pulleys even with the adjuster moved all the way forward. Maybe this is only possible with a narrow belt and SEII pulleys. This is mentioned in post #8 of this thread: http://www.1130cc.com/forums/showthread.php?t=72355
Although the discussion about the speedometer recalibrator in post #8 isn't accurate. These are plug-in devices, no wire cutting is necessary.
VenomousSVT said:
so when you order a pulley from PM when you get a set of wheels you dont specify the teeth on the pulley?
Concerning getting different rear pulleys: The V-Rod cush drive requirements limits rear pulley availability. If you give up the cush drive and go with aftermarket wheels you can find a few others, but then you need to find a belt that would fit.
 
1 - 20 of 67 Posts
Top