Harley Davidson V-Rod Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 6 mm cap screw with the head broken off. This screw retains the foot peg and shifter assembly. I drilled a hole into the center of the remaining screw, sprayed it with wd40 and attempted to remove it several times with an extractor. I’m concerned about breaking the extractor. It will not come loose. Does anyone an idea how to crack it loose?

·
Registered
692 Posts
Sounds like a midwest rust belt victim (I used to be a Chicago resident so I know all about rust and stuck bolts):

Lots of PB blaster (soak it overnight) and a decent extractor should get it done.

If not, drill it out (step up in drill bit sizes as you go of course).

WORST case...find a friend with a small mig welder and tack something to it to get a big wrench on it.

As long as you don't eat into the frame you can keep attacking. The bolt is already garbage (as I am sure you know).

·
VRSC est -03
3,094 Posts
A heat gun should come in handy here.. let us know the outcome.

·
Registered
405 Posts
Heat.....

I have a 6 mm cap screw with the head broken off. This screw retains the foot peg and shifter assembly. I drilled a hole into the center of the remaining screw, sprayed it with wd40 and attempted to remove it several times with an extractor. I’m concerned about breaking the extractor. It will not come loose. Does anyone an idea how to crack it loose?