Harley Davidson V-Rod Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am hoping one of you experienced V-Rod'ers can help me with a small technical question.

We got an unusually warm day here today and I got a chance to ride my new Rod for about 25 miles. This bike is a sweet ride. Very smooth and tight.

Well, I got excited and decided to put on a set of chrome rear foot peg mounting brackets. I got the rear right side on with no problem. Very easy.

Since I have to remove the belt guard on the left, I have to back out the rear shock bolt just far enought to remove the belt guard. Now I am just a fair mechanic but I can usually at least figure out what wrench to use....but for the life of me I can't figure out just what size open end wrench fits the rear lock bolt (the service manual calles it a (thin height nut) that needs to be loosened in order to back out the hex bolt that holds in the shock. I thought I heard this bike was mostly Metric? Is it?

Can anyone please help a rookie Rod'er? Any advise?

Thanks

2003 V-Rod
2004 1200C Sportster
2003 Sizuki Intruder
2003 Ford Mustang Cobra (445 RWHP)

·
Color me Gone
27,333 Posts
A 19mm open end wrench will fit or you can use a 3/4 since they are almost the exact same size. The bolt head should be an 8mm allen or is on most.

Welcome to the forum.

Max

·
spit happens
5,534 Posts
Mine were allen head bolts.I have a set of Bonduss allen wrenches with a ball at the end of each.I was able to get them loose enough that I could use my fingers to loosen them.I haven't attempted to put them back on.

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I tried a 19mm from the start and it is very sloopy on there. I thought I had heard this bike is Metric but I may try the 3/4 suggestion and see if that works better. I have just about every size except guess? 3/4. Kids must have got it.

I do have to back off that thin heioght nut first before I back out the 8mm allen right?

Thanks

·
Registered