Harley Davidson V-Rod Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Guys,

I wanted to replace my 2014 vrod night rod special battery, so removed the breather kit, air filter etc but when I removed negative battery terminal the bolt fell through front oil breather hole. Pic attached

How do I remove the bolt from the hole ? Is this serious ?

I would really appreciate any help.

Thanks,
sam.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Welcome to 1130cc.

Here:

Hi Knut J. Thanks for the support and I'm really relieved now as I'm not the only one to experience this...

Can I remove the alternate cover myself ? I'm fairly new to mechanics..

Thanks, Sam

·
Registered
1,338 Posts
Hi Knut J. Thanks for the support and I'm really relieved now as I'm not the only one to experience this...

Can I remove the alternate cover myself ? I'm fairly new to mechanics..

Thanks, Sam
Yes, you are not the first! I have heard of a few doing this but fortunately all retrieved by the method posted by Knut
Removing alternator cover is pretty straight forward. Google "V Rod stator wire leak" You will find numerous "how to" videos on this. Be careful with your fingers with the magnet!

·
VRSC est -03
2,582 Posts
Yes you can remove the cover. Drain some of the engine oil first. Keep in mind that strong magnetism is present behind the cover, the use of 2x 6mm screws (saw of the head of the bolts) is highly recommended when installing the cover! The cover will snap out of your fingers. Would also recommend a genuine HD shop manual, a good investment and the use of torque wrench...

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #6