Harley Davidson V-Rod Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
snakeman2
35 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am asking my for some advice from the vrod family...I want to paint my vrod..I would love to paint the frame as well I believe that this looks tons better..It would cost prob 3k to have dealer tear it down/put it back togetherdo ! :broke:its rated at 33 hours ( maybe cheaper during offseason prob could neg down to 2k but man thans still a lot of loot pant job would prob be 3k theres no way I can justify paying 5k)
I am thinking about doing something crazy like tearing it apart myself.. during off season. Has anyone done this? I know that some have and had great success. Now I must be honest, I am not a mechanic and havent done a lot of work..I change oil myself, changed brakes, but that is all I have ever done. If it takes mechanic 30 hours i estimate it would take me 7X as long. Am I crazy?
For me this would be a massive undertaking probally would have bike down 6-7 months. Would not have a lot of help with project. probally have to do it by myself. Anyone who has done this please give me your advice/input
-Anyone in Richmond area that could occasionally give me a hand?
-My plan b would be to keep frame gray and do some type of fade paint job that includes the gray and then has different colors included in tins.
-or try to find mechanic to help me on the side with job and cheaper price...
i want it to look maybe similiar to this maybe not as intricate

Attachments

·
Back in Black
2,573 Posts
How close are you to Virginia beach? Look Lonnie aka smoothrod He is the man. If you need engine work he is the man to contact but sure he could help on about anything.
Yes a lot of work and time consuming but very doable You just need to decide if you can do without the bike that long.

·
Premium Member
5,718 Posts